Cal State LA information systems faculty receives the University’s 2017 Outstanding Professor Award

Cal State LA
2 min readAug 31, 2017


Cal State LA recognized Nanda Ganesan for excellence in the classroom and service to the community during the 2017 University Fall Convocation at the Luckman Fine Arts Complex.

Ganesan, a professor of information systems in the College of Business and Economics at Cal State LA, was one of four Outstanding Professors honored for excellence in teaching and significant achievement in scholarly inquiry or creativity, as well as professional activities and community service, during a festive ceremony on August 17.

Born in Colombo, Sri Lanka, Ganesan was one of the founding faculty members of the Semnan Institute of Technology in Iran. He has taught and conducted research at higher education institutions in the United States, Australia, Singapore, Japan, England, Iran and Sri Lanka.

His current research focuses on using cloud computing to enhance technology mediated learning, building collaborative platforms for learning and producing multimedia instructional modules. His teaching interests are in data communications, computer networks, management information systems and information technology literacy. He has served twice as chair of the Department of Information Systems, and has cofounded the M.S. in Information Systems program at Cal State LA.

Many of his grants have been funded to build hardware and software infrastructure to support hands-on training in computing classes. The extensive set of teaching materials he produced is hosted on course websites.

Ganesan has authored 18 articles in refereed journals, written 21 refereed articles that appeared in proceedings and handbooks, and developed 190 multimedia lab and lecture modules. He has also written many professional reports and given countless presentations in national and international conferences. Ganesan holds a Ph.D. in engineering production from the University of Birmingham in England.

Additionally, three Outstanding Professor Awards went to Cal State LA faculty members Talia Mae Bettcher, Patrick J. Krug and Arturo Pacheco-Vega, and an Outstanding Lecturer Award was given to Jay Conway. A President’s Distinguished Professor Award was also presented to Sharon H. Ulanoff, who was a previous outstanding professor recipient. This award recognizes the faculty member’s superlative teaching and exceptional commitment to students, as well as professional accomplishments and services.

Nanda Ganesan (Credit: J. Emilio Flores/ Cal State LA)